top of page

A Week in Edmonton

So it has been a full week. Lots of tests, information overload and highs and lows of emotions. It has been an honour for me to be here in Edmonton alongside Daniel and Laura. U of A Hospital is a wonderful place. All the staff have been very good. We have seen many doctors who have helped us to better understand Daniel's situation and we are hopeful that a lung transplant will happen in the not too distant future.

It has been good for me to get acquainted with the surroundings here. I have been able to scope out possible accommodations that are within walking distance. I stayed in guest housing at the university campus (5 minute walk) and in the outpatient residence which is right in the hospital. Yesterday I also checked out the Edmonton Mennonite Guest Home (10 minute walk). It was more of a home away from home atmosphere. Lots of very good options. I am so very grateful for the care and support of so many people. We continue to appreciate your thoughts and prayers as we move forward. I will be going home today. Daniel and Laura will be following shortly, we hope. Just as I was typing this we got word that Daniel is on the list for lungs. We are so very, very grateful. Romans 8:26-27. "Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we ought, but that very Spirit intercedes with sighs too deep for words. And God, who searches the heart, knows what is the mind of the spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God." The Spirit prays within me - that has been calming, reassuring and settling - I carry the Spirit within, close and I am not alone. I invite you to pray with us as we continue to journey. With deep gratitude, Marilyn


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page