top of page

Back Too Soon


This was not the evening we expected. It's Thursday, I had homework to do and we had just made plans to have supper with two of our closest friends. Then I got a call from Daniel at 3:55, he was feeling worse, coughing and so short of breath that he couldn't walk from the dining room table to our couch. A phone call to his doctor later and we were on our way to the ER, dinner plans effectively ruined. Hours later, and he's back in the hospital only three weeks after getting released. We didn't want him to be admitted this time. We were just getting used to being home again. Getting used to his new limits and how to work around them. Every time he gets admitted and every time he comes home a little worse, it's so much easier to believe what I couldn't believe when this first started three years ago: 5 years after onset. 5 years. This is what 3 years in looks like. I know what 5 years will be without this transplant. For the first time, I'm scared of him not coming home from the hospital. I'm sorry tonight isn't a more positive post. We're just tired. Everything feels a little farther away tonight.

Laura


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page